RCGC History

The Royal Cromer Golf Club was founded in 1888 and immediately attained royal status through the patronage of the Prince of Wales, later to become King Edward VII.

The land for the original course, which was over nine holes, was rented from the Suffield family. In 1891, Old Tom Morris was invited to advise the club on changes which would make the club the finest of its kind, and prepare the way for a later eighteen hole course.

Between the wars, Lord Suffield, President of the club for many years, waived the annual rent in order for Royal Cromer to survive the stringencies of those times.

In 1976, the club was able to purchase the course through the generosity of the Harbord family, and the present layout has been functioning since 1979. Substantial cliff falls over the years have necessitated modifications, but since 1962 when the last great fall occurred, the situation has been relatively stable.

The club now boasts around 700 members. Golfers from around the world visit in great numbers to sample cliff top golf at its very best.
Background shows a golfing gentleman with caddie practicing in front of the lighthouse in 1901.

Book a Tee Time
Ready to book?

Our booking system will make it easy for you.